Hittin’ The Dirt

I’m kind of disheartened this morning. The houseplant, the philodendron, I’ve had for more years than I can remember, looks like it finally bit the dust. That in itself isn’t the sad part. The sad part is that it was a shoot from the original that Grandma B had from before she moved to NJ back in 1950-something. It was looking a little bit unhealthy and I tended to it as best I could and it finally started coming around. I was even going to post periodic pictures of it as it continued to flourish. But this morning, all that’s left is a leafless vine. I’ll keep at it, and maybe, like what happened with Grandma’s, that it stopped growing and she threw it outside and there it began to grow and she had it ever since, it’ll start coming back for me.

This is a recent finer moment.

 

grandma's plant 2

So, switching gears for a sec, I’m wishing today was the 5th. It’s Be Late For Something Day, instead of it being Skyscraper Day today. And it’s Charlie Sheen’s birthday (1965), Alan Ladd (1913-1964) and Kitty Carlisle (1910-2007).

Today’s also the day Michael Jackson will finally be interred at the Forest Lawn Memorial Park in Glendale, CA. That’s where such luminaries as Clark Gable, Jimmy Stewart, the aforementioned Alan Ladd, and L. Frank Baum, author of The Wonderful Wizard Of Oz have been laid to rest. It’s been determined that the Jackson estate is liquid enough that it can pick up the undisclosed “extraordinary” tab for the funeral, unlike the cost for that life celebration thing back in…whenever it was…the city of Los Angeles took up a collection for to pay for all the police and craft services and whatnot.

I’m also just less than two hours away from my weekend beginning, thanks to having worked last Saturday. I won’t be blogging until Tuesday and that will be, of course, part 4 in the “Florida Story” and the newest installment of McGinty Chronicles will be up and running.

Have a great holiday weekend!

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Hittin’ The Dirt”

  1. Donna Says:

    A sixty-something year old plant; that’s something to be proud of. You did good caring for it all these years (I know not all 60). I guess even plants can’t live forever.
    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

