Guiding Light…One Fan’s Idea For A Fix

I just hope it’s not too late and I hope someone of some importance gets a chance to read this today, or if you know someone who has any say, or just want to rally fellow fans, spread this around. Every little bit helps.

I have been a fan of Guiding Light ever since 1992, when Fiona Hutchison, who gave stellar performances as Gabrielle Medina on One Life To Live, moved to the CBS soap as cat burglar, Jenna Bradshaw. I had intended to follow only her storyline, but, one thing led to another and before I knew it, I was hooked.

I have been lamenting the demise of Guiding Light ever since one of my Facebook friends started a petition back in April when the announcement came that CBS was canceling the 72 year old soap opera. I signed the petition like a good “do bee”.

Something occurred to me while watching the cast interview on this past weekend’s 60 Minutes. If you missed it, you can find it on YouTube  and it’s in two partsI wondered if taking Guiding Light in one more extremely bold direction might not help save the show. What if the producers and all the powers that be were to reduce the show back to a half hour. There’s nothing wrong with being a small fish in a big pond, as long as you keep swimming. (Or, how about, The Little Engine That Could?) Not only could it help in production costs but stories, which had pretty much begun to lose their “edge of your seat” factor, could be better concentrated on. If you have a bunch of thin stories and you try to keep them flowing over a longer period of time, they get  threadbare and uninteresting.

I remember such storylines as Annie Dutton (one of the best plots ever as far as I’m concerned) and I couldn’t wait for each episode to find out what Annie was up to. But as of late, it was apparent there was a problem with creating hardcore storylines. But like any true fan of a soap, where you must be able to suspend belief at a certain level, you can forgive just about anything that happens on a washboard weeper.

I realize reversal is not considered progress, but if it’s a question of quality over quantity, especially for a show as revered as Guiding Light, hardcore fans, if given the opportunity, may just go for it. With today’s accelerated lifestyle, with hardly any TIME for anything, viewers might welcome having to spend only 30 minutes in front of their televisions with a higher quality story rather than for 60 with a lackluster production.

As of this Friday, September 18th , after 15,762 televised episodes, and that’s not including the nearly 4,000 radio episodes, Guiding Light will be off the air. But if someone of some importance is reading this please consider this: Back on August 14th, (click here) when I blogged about the history of Guiding Light, unless I’m reading incorrectly, it looks like the show had an approximate six month hiatus between November 29, 1946 and June 2, 1947 while the broadcast was in between sponsors. So, maybe after this Friday’s episode, the town of Springfield can be considered to be on a “restructuring hiatus” during which time, a new home for a newly revamped Guiding Light can be found, perhaps even as a weekly nighttime soap, in the tradition of Dallas or Dynasty. There, the possibilities for cliffhanger storylines from our favorite Springfield residents can once again be told.

You can also click here for info on Guiding Light and all your other favorite soaps.

GuidingLightWhiteLogoKeep the light burning!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Guiding Light…One Fan’s Idea For A Fix”

  1. PennyPoppenga Says:

    I wish the fans could do something save Guiding light of going off the air far good .

  2. Teri Says:

    I’ve been watching Guiding Light for over 35 years. I began watching with my grandmother as you Never interrupted her while she was watching Guiding Light. I’ve been crying all week–the show can’t end!
    I sent CBS and email months ago stating they should try a half hour format. There has to be some way to save the show. I never heard a word and I’ve never seen them mention changing to a half hour or another station.
    But I agree. Maybe this can be a hiatus while they change things. But they better do it fast before the characters get picked up by other soaps!

  3. lori Says:

    I will miss GL it has been apart of my life for over 20 years my favorite story lines was Reva and Jonathan (i even bought the book), will not watch any replacement show, and can’t stand any other soaps. so my soap days are over

  4. Jennifer Says:

    I also haven’t had a dry eye in weeks…the writing is beautifully done (as always!) I really couldn’t agree with all of you more. I am 33 years old and grew up watching this show (as both my mother and my grandmother watched it prior to my birth) and we have kept the tradition going (as my own children having been watching it for the past 12 years).

    I really am open to anything to keep these stories (and my soap family) going. I would love to see the show try a new route…drop it to a half hour…or even once a week if that would help out at all. I understand that we need to come to terms with the fact that all things must end, but I don’t know how we can get through the day without knowing that our “soap family” is still there.

    I would even be ok with them just publishing a few books to continue out the story lines…it wouldn’t be the same, but it would be something. There are so many lose strings here…so many stories still untold and we the viewers deserve to know them!

    I really hope that if they are unable to find a solution of sorts, that they at least (the very least) release a DVD on the best moments on GL over the years (and not the little 2 min snippets that “youtube” does!) I know that I am not alone in saying that I would gladly purchase as many volumes as they wanted to produce!

    Please if there is anyway possible, please please please do something…anything to help all the loyal viewers of Guiding Light….the most heart felt soap opera ever!
    -Jen

  5. kelbyk Says:

    I have loved this show all my life it so sad to know that the longest running soap is being taken off the air. I can’t believe that CBS wold do this to all the fans who loved this show. I have watched the show since I was 6 with my grandma and I am now 34 and she is no longer with me. Guiding Light will always be apart of my life. There were so many good things that happened in this show and i’m sad to see it go just when I thought it was getting good. All the the people from the past coming home and then the Light goes out. You will be missed and God Bless all the stars who made this show what it was…

Leave a Reply

