Smile…Take 2!

My new teeth are finally permanently in my mouth. And as of April, 2010, they will officially be mine. Right now they belong equally to me and to the credit company and man, oh man, what a hefty chunk of change that will be in our checkbook come April.

They look and feel great, even though they’re decidedly much smaller than the temps I’ve had for the last six months and where I had to get used to eating and even speaking differently with a huge chunk of plastic in my mouth, now I have to do that all over again with what are essentially the exact replica of natural teeth. I was remarking about this on Monday night, when I was working the teeth into place with the aid of my chew toy, that it would take me a while to learn to eat and speak all over again. Right now, because they’re smaller, I find some of my “S” sounds as well as any that are made using the teeth are somewhat airy and lispy until I find the right position for them unlike the clunky ones I just had removed. But, this slight impediment isn’t as bad as trying to hold a conversation with Dr. Bob after he’d taken out the temps in order to do some gum work, when your upper lip sort of collapses. But then I remembered going through the same thing 25 or 26 years ago when I had the first bridge put in. And then I tried to remember if these new ones have the same feel as the old ones, but after six months, I can’t recall. And to that end, I don’t remember wondering if the old ones felt like my old natural teeth. But, the long and short of it, my teeth are finally in and I’m really happy about it.

But somewhere, someone is not so happy. Environmentalists are attacking super soft (Quilted Northern Ultra Plush , to be exact) toilet paper, saying the excess in paper is wasteful and helping to deplete the world’s tree population. Okay, I can go along with that. They also cite that along with facial tissues, “personal” paper makes up about 5% of usage in the paper products industry. Paper and cardboard packing supplies, even though more than half is made up of recycled materials, makes up 26% and newspapers, 3%.

Wood fibers from older trees, like the ones used in the toilet papers in question, are longer, thus producing a smoother and more supple web. Fibers made from recycled materials are much shorter, resulting in a rougher web. And because consumers demand soft, soft is what they get and last year 24 million packages of Quilted Northern Ultra Plush were sold brining in over $144 million dollars to the manufacturer.

Not to be overly personal, but I’ve always preferred Scott. It’s plain, it’s simple and it gets the job done. And quite frankly, I don’t feel, let’s say, refreshed, after using a softer paper. Kimberly-Clark, who makes Cottenelle and Kleenex, says that by 2011, 40% of all fiber will come from recycled paper in their products. And really, what other alternative does the buying public have? Billowy soft or sandpapery scratchy, it’s still a necessity.

There’s a video of the quote of the week, but unfortunately, I don’t know if I should play it or not. Oh, the heck with it, I’m not the one who said it. Who knows what it was in reference to, but he said with such newscaster authority.

 

Come on, you know it’s funny and the look on the woman’s face is priceless. And Ernie has since apologized. Yes, another celebrity apology.  At least it wasn’t as vile as  Tex Antoine’s remark about a rape victim he made back in ’74 that promptly got him fired:  “When rape is inevitable, relax and enjoy it.”

And the feel good video of the week:

 

And with that, I wish you all a great weekend.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Smile…Take 2!”

  1. Melissa Says:

    1. Hooray about your new teeth! I hope they will be just splendid for you!
    2. I can say that I am also doing my part for the environment because I, too, prefer Scott toilet tissue. And not the “Extra Soft” kind either. It’s thin and fabulous, and that’s how I like it!
    3. We had already discovered that “chicken” clip on youtube. Hilarious! Number one, why did he say that???? What would possess a person to even come up with a phrase like that??? Number two, I think it’s funny how he just goes on like nothing ever happened. Did he HEAR himself?? Or does he just think that was part of normal everyday conversation? And number three, yes, I agree, the look on the woman’s face is great! She is totally mortified!

Leave a Reply

