Hey! I’m Back

I’m back. I needed a rest. Well, part of the reason I’ve been away is because I was on vacation and the other part of the reason was because I just had to get all my ducks in a row afterwards and get myself back into the swing of things. And now I’m not sure if I got my blog game on, but I’ll give it my best shot.

Okay, well, my vacation was spent with my family in Illinois and spent most of the time just hanging out with my father, talking about family stuff, waxing sentimental and overall just enjoying each other’s company. We had a big family dinner on Saturday at The Ranch where in a moment of weakness from too much to eat, I divulged my famous apple pie recipe to my sister-in-law. And I also broke tradition and did not make plans to go Alexander’s Steakhouse. My trips in the recent past to the Midwest have been short and rushed and I just wanted to enjoy time with my family.

And in regards to the family stuff we talked about there was some unbelievably fantastic documentation which you’ll be seeing once the next chapters of McGinty Chronicles launch, most likely beginning after the first of the year. And I’m really looking forward to getting that back up and running. And I also was given John Logan’s (my great-grandfather) cane shaped walking stick which will get hung on the wall of my office as soon as I figure just where I want it and when I find an appropriate way to hang it. I want just the right holder for it and put it where it will be out of hand’s reach.

So, Brian, what’s up with that blog picture? I’m glad you asked. While we were going through stacks of pictures, I found a series of pictures that were taken of me through my first few years. This one happens to be my hospital picture. Cute…no?  Wait until you see tomorrow’s.

Okay, so I was home from my trip in time for work on Wednesday and by Friday, I needed a break so it was off to the theater. We had tickets to see A Steady Rain starring Hugh Jackman and Daniel Craig. It was a 2-man, no-intermission play about two cop partners who had been friends since kindergarten in a tough Chicago neighborhood and how their lives had intertwined since, including bachelor Craig being in love with married but cheating (with a hooker) Jackman’s wife. In every sense of the word it was a minimalist set, namely two chairs on a representative cement slab and an occasional dimly lit backdrop of either a ghetto apartment building or a densely wooded area. I heard gasps and groans as the story developed coming from the audience but it wasn’t really gripping me like that. For me it just sort of rolled along with no emotion. I gave it a 6 and Ariel gave it a 9.

At the end of the play, the two stars announced that it was time for a Broadway Cares: Equity Fights AIDS drive, which happens twice a year on Broadway for period of time and among the incentives to drop big dollars in the buckets by the exit doors were signed Playbills and posters. But the big ticket of the night was Jackman’s announcement that the wifebeater tanktop he was wearing on stage that night would be autographed and given to the highest bidder from the audience, beginning at one thousand dollars. Two people waged a bidding war and at 10 thousand, Jackman stopped the auction and announced that for that amount each, both he and Craig would sign their shirts for the two warring bidders backstage.

By contrast, I heard on Saturday that the sequined glove Michael Jackson wore when he did his moonwalk for the first time on television was among the items being auctioned off that night at the Julien’s Auction, and the estimated amount it was expected to bring in was in the neighborhood of $50,000. Not all that big a big price, for something of the “King Of Pop’s” I thought, by comparison to a tanktop for $10,000 the night before. Well, the glove, as it turns out, sold for $350,000. So, egg on my face.

Well, I’m really writing this on Sunday night and I’m watching the American Music Awards which I’ll probably moan and groan about tomorrow, if I deem any of it worthy of mention.

Have a great day.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Hey! I’m Back”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Cute, yes! (the blog picture)

    And egg on your face – yes! (MJ’s auctioned sequined glove)

Leave a Reply

