Happy Thanksgiving

…a day early. I’ll be busy tonight working on desserts. I’m making pies. A sugar-free apple for Ariel’s mother and two lemon chesses, one also sugar free. Ariel’s niece is taking up the tradition and making the regular apple for the first time, on her own, since I gave her the recipe (and a complete set of pie making tools) as a Christmas present last year. I’ve had the honor of making the holiday apple pie for the past 20 some years and now I’ve passed the baton. I’m sure she’ll have no problem with it. After all, it’s easy as…pie!

Also, tomorrow is the 83rd Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade and there are four new balloons: Spider-Man, Sailor Mickey, Ronald McDonald and The Pillsbury Doughboy. And after 40 years, Santa’s sleigh will be a brand new one in this parade.

What I can’t seem to get a grasp on is that it’s already Thanksgiving. It seems like I was just in Provincetown for the 4th of July.

And how about Donny Osmond winning the coveted Mirrored Disco Ball Trophy on Dancing With The Stars last night? 

Here’s a video of a television commercial that Ariel and I thought was just on this side of bad taste. It’s a young about to be engaged couple skating on a frozen pond. The guy is doofus-ified by being like a newborn fawn on unsure legs falling on the ice, nearly cracking his skull. What got us was the choice of song, even though its sentimentality fits.

Considering Sonny Bono died when he slammed into a tree while skiing we just thought this an odd choice of song. What do you think?

And for some fun, here’s a comical take on a popular commercial.

And lastly, there’s a little life left in one particular horse that I need to give one more whack to. In response to Melissa’s comment yesterday about record sales being the basis for winners of the American Music Awards, I’ll amend my query about Michael Jackson. Where were all his awards in the past few years? Which equates to, where were all his fans? Okay, now, that horse is officially dead.

And with that, I wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving. I’m not sure if I’ll have anything up for Friday since I won’t be working. I’ve been cramming all my hours in all week so I could take Friday off. But check back just in case.

 

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Happy Thanksgiving”

  1. Donna Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and all your readers 🙂

Leave a Reply

