Front Page News

What a productive and laborious weekend it was, beginning with Friday night. We had no plans other than to take it easy because we were going out with my aunt and uncle for breakfast early Saturday morning. So, we decided to settle in and watch the latest NetFlix rental, The Front Page, starring Walter Mathau and Jack Lemmon. It’s a remake of His Girl Friday, the 1940 Rosalind Russell/Cary Grant remake of the original The Front Page from 1931 starring Adolpe Menjou and Pat O’Brien. We got to it late, and also after a healthy portion of fettuccine alfredo and about 3/4 the way through the movie we were both down for the count, and twice I had to rewind to try to get all the way to the end.

Saturday morning we got to my uncle’s house and then headed to the diner for breakfast and I could hardly believe my eyes when I opened the menu. There, as you can see in the picture, I finally found a diner that answered the question I’ve been asking for a long time…why not?

We didn’t take advantage of it, but headed back to the house. We hung out for a while longer than we anticipated but helped them figure out how to offload the pictures from their cell phones (by way of emailing them to their computer). After that, I helped them figure how to work their DVR. It’s from DirecTV and set up differently than the one from my cable, but the nightmarishness of it came back to me from when we used to have DirecTV. I see they rectified one of the issues among the myriad list of complaints I had toward the end of our association with them–that right there would be fodder for a blog series…

Long and short of it, I got them set up and now they know how to set programs in advance to record, watch what they record and how to search for shows to watch and/or record. The next question they asked was if I could help figure why their VCR wasn’t visible on their TV like the DVD player was. We tried every auxiliary input available on the TV before we pulled the credenza away from the wall to expose the surprisingly unjumbled mesh of wires. It took a few minutes for me to realize there was no line back into the TV from the VCR (only a line to it). After showing my uncle where the proper wires (which he’d have to buy) had to go, he ejected the tape he put in for this test from the machine, only to find the VCR had eaten it while we were working.

We drove home in the wintry mix of snow, sleet and rain that had been predicted and then instantly began setting up Christmas and by the time we settled in for night with a celebratory wassail and a mushroom and sausage pizza (I know..too much fast food. No wonder I’m getting fat again…) and the Adolphe Menjou version of The Front Page, we got the tree up and decorated and few things around the house done. Again, at just about the same point in the movie as the Walther Mathau one, we were out like lights and it took a few attempts to get through the end of the movie. I have to say, hands down,  the Rosalind Russell/Cary Grant version of the movie is the best…with that fella that looks like Ralph Bellamy.

Yesterday was spent cleaning out the mudroom that became a catchall for way too long and finishing off the house and wrapping Christmas presents that need to be shipped and while Ariel put the finishing touches on all the niceties, I was having a nervous breakdown trying to navigate through the UPS website, but that’s usually the case no matter when I go on that site. Then, a quick run to Costco and Target before stopping at The Lone Star for dinner and back home to our nice cozy red chairs to finish off the night.

And a final note, our mayor, Brian Levine has been named the 2009 Mayor of the Year by The New Jersey Regional Coalition. Congratulations Mayor Levine!

And here it is, Monday and a chance to start the cycle all over again.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Front Page News”

  1. Melissa Says:

    I miss weekends spent with you guys …

Leave a Reply

