230 + 213 = Time For Change

Whew, it’s Monday. Finally, I can take a break. All I have is work today. Friday night, we went out to dinner with Janet, a friend of mine since we were both kids, and Meg, who we know through her. The last time we did that was, oh, man, it has to be well over a year ago, which is a bad thing, but it was like we picked up the conversation from where we left off the last time and before we knew it, four hours had passed.

On Saturday morning, while I continued fighting with my computer and the web server for my main website, (a fruitless task until it was time to go out the night before) Ariel took down Christmas by himself until I was done (I was setting up the new chapter of McGinty, which premiers today) and then I helped as much as I could with the dismanteling until we had to go to his sister’s house for dinner, where we learned his niece is getting married and is also having a baby and due in August.

But yesterdy, we finished off Christmas, which, by the way, now gives us the right to make fun of all those who still have their decorations up. We did laundry, shopped for groceries, cleaned out some cabinets in the kitchen made chicken soup and ate a pizza.

Now for some big news. It’s been a while that we’ve been hemming and hawing about it, but we finally got ourselves up and out to start up our daily 4-mile walks again. Today also starts our renewed regime of sensible eating. We had our official weigh-ins on Saturday morning before watching the history of breakfast foods on The History Channel (which prompted me to go out to McDonald’s for an Egg McMuffin and stuff) and I clocked in at 230 pounds and Ariel at 213. I’m right back where I was 2 years ago when I went to the doctor for the first time in 20 years. It was after that initial visit I began a life-changing regiment that lost me 35 pounds. Unfortunately, it all went back on since then, but now it’s time to reverse that again. So prepare yourselves for weekly updates on our progress. And we’re going to reward ourselves with something, yet to be determined, for every 10 pounds we lose until we achieve our goals.

On that note, and without further ado, it’s time to unveil the long-awaited return of McGinty Monday.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

