We’ve Been Blogged

Before I get into my review of “Promises, Promises”, which is a whole story that I have to try to whittle down to a manageable length, I want to tell you that Ariel and I have been immortalized on the Uni-Lazy website. Click here to check it out!  Hard to believe we’re talking about Uni-Lazies when I finally relented and turned on the air conditioners last night. The temperature downstairs was 81 and upstairs, 86. I saw on the widget on my computer the temp outside today got as high as 90. April 7th. Go figure!

So, “Promises, Promises”… First, my cab was late coming to pick me, the first time this company has had me feeling a little stranded and helpless, but when he got here, we tore off and still looked like we’d make it until he got a call to pick up another fare also going to the train. He told the dispatcher he wouldn’t wait for this woman because he had his “steady that has to get to his train”. Made me feel good, but alas, I missed my train. I was willing to pay the penalty for not buying my ticket at the booth just so I could get on my way. But as I got the platform, the train was pulling away. But to my consolation, an express was due in in less than fifteen minutes and while I waited, I got this picure.

Yes, it’s snow, between the platform and a parking deck. With that curious thought running through my mind, I was whisked away to Manhattan on a double decker train. Love those!

I was like a missile heading to our meeting place up on 52nd Street once I got out of that ant farm known as Penn Station and it became clear to me that it must be a cosmically inherent unwritten rule that no physical contact takes place on the street, no matter how you have to slow your pace or contort yourself to get around someone when you’re going at a clip you just don’t want to stop, because if you do, someone behind you will take over your lead.

A quick nosh and a cold beer was mine 20 minutes later and soon we were off to the theater which was just one block away. Sounds easy, yes? Well, there was a Sigley involved, don’t forget that little tidbit. Earlier in the afternoon, there had been a manhole explosion and the block we needed was barricaded, even to foot traffic. A police officer told us that “Jersey Boys” wasn’t going on since it was right in the middle of the affected block, but she had no information on “Promises, Promises”. Well, like mice in a maze, we made our way to the theater, crawling under do not cross tape and ducking around emergency vehicles. The theater was open and as expected, the curtain was delayed in going up.

This little mouse found his cheese up on the stage only 12 rows away. I gave the show an 8. Of course, we were all giddy waiting to see Kristin Chenoweth, but I have to be honest, Sean Hayes, in his debut Broadway performance, absolutely stole the show at a comedic pace that was consistent throughout. And it seemed to us, that although La Chenoweth is a force to be reckoned with in her own right, seemed almost wasted (which I mean as a compliment to her) in this production; almost as if the producers wanted to ensure a “name” to draw an audience. But her part, by comparison, was small, but as ever she is a unique gem to witness in person and I think Sean Hayes could carry the show on his own merit.

The story, in case you’re not familiar is about C.C. Baxter, an aspiring executive in an insurance firm who loans out his apartment to his bosses for their extramarital trysts in return for the promise of advancement in the company–the movie was “The Apartment” with Jack Lemmon and Shirley MacLaine.

All in all, “Promises, Promises” was a feel good, light-hearted (in spite of the attempted suicide) way to spend an evening with friends.

Let’s see how the newts made out last night.   

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

