…But Fear Itself

“What is nothing to fear?”, for $200.  They say the best way to get over a fear is to simply just face it head on. That’s a problem for me because there’s nothing simple about a fear.  Get right back on that horse…oh, wait, that’s a bit of advice for a different occasion….

You all know by now I’m afraid of spiders, deathly afraid, and when confronted with one, my reactions range from a startled and tense recoil to an outright girlish shriek. I can’t help it, and now it’s out there for you all to read. I don’t know why it is, and at this stage of the game, I really don’t find any importance in trying to trace the source of that fear. Oh, yeah, and uncaged birds in an enclosed setting (and sometimes in the great outdoors, especially when there is a whole flock of them coming right at me).

One time on the Ellen DeGeneres show, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson was on and he admitted that he, too, had an uncontrollable fear of spiders and Ellen decided she would cure him by having a tarantula walk up his arm, which he did. Okay, first of all, that man is NOT afraid of spiders to the degree he said he was, I don’t care how much of a show he felt he had to put on in front of the viewing audience. I even had to look away the second the critter was on the screen and I only know how far the “stunt” went because I happened to glance up and saw it on his arm.

So, I have this fear of boats and most every year when we go up to the cape, I kind of long for the fun of going whale watching and always say, I will do it, I will do it. But then rationale steps in, in the guise of Ariel, who says, why do that to yourself and not enjoy it? Good point. I have been on boats and have cringed, white-knuckled, until the trip was over.

You would think something enjoyable like whale watching on a sunny summer day would help temporarily take my mind off where I was, though with my luck there would be no sightings that day, and it would be much better enticement than knowing I was on the exact same course the MS Balmoral will be taking on April 8, 2012; the 100th anniversary commemorative voyage of the RMS Titanic. The Balmoral will follow the Titanic’s original itinerary, passing by Cherbourg on the French coast then calling into the Irish port of Cobh. Then it’s across the Atlantic to the Titanic site on April 14 and 15 where a memorial service will be held to the passengers and crew who died. Then on to Halifax, Nova Scotia and finally into New York, the Titanic’s ultimate planned destination.

Nope, I don’t think that would be the optimal place to start getting over my fear of boats.

Let’s check in with the nutty newts and see if they were afraid of what went on last night on American Idol.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

