An “appy” Day

I guess you could say work has officially begun on the addition. Yesterday, after some touch up spackling was applied in a few spots in the bathroom and set to dry, which will be smoothed out and finished off today, the Lou Crew began cutting down the gargantuan lilac bush and the dead cherry tree that saw it’s last bit of life last season on one branch that greened. Again, did I take a starting picture of it to start of that slideshow after the project is complete? No. No, I didn’t.

And I still have to locate that video of the house. Apparently my mind’s eye is blind because that videotape is not where I envisioned it, nor anywhere close by. I guess I’ll have to start looking in unconventional places, like in boxes with other videotapes.

Did you hear the one about the mosque the American Society for Muslim Advancement got the go ahead to build 2 blocks away from ground zero? The decision was met with a high emotional debate among area residents. Hmm. Imagine that!

I officially fell in love with my Motorola Droid last night. I’ve had it for about three weeks and contrary to the ads you see and hear of what Droid does, I found there are a few things that the less powerful phone I just replaced did that Droid doesn’t, namely play animated .gif files like Mona Lisa’s interpretation of Janet Jackson’s wardrobe malfunction. I understand, though, that might be corrected shortly. But I found an app called Where, which I wish I had found on the trip to Illinois last week. It ties in to the phone’s GPS and can give you the current weather (and extended forecast), traffic conditions, like construction delays, it can find local restaurants, etc for every cuisine, movies (theaters and movie times, descriptions and trailers), local attractions and events (where applicable). I was pretty much stupefied; it found the two Dunkin’ Donuts near me and the one grocery store I won’t go into, as well as Mr. Tod’s Bakery, where we first learned of lemon chess pie, which he never has anymore anytime you go in to get one and even the Cuban restaurant, Martino’s not far from here and tons of other things. And it was FREE! Unfortunately I don’t have any immediate travel plans to be able to put it to the test outside my area.

On the heels of Mother’s Day this weekend, today is National Roast Leg of Lamb Day. Hmm, I haven’t taken anything out of the freezer yet to have for dinner…

Gotta run. Got tons of work to get through before my weekend starts.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “An “appy” Day”

  1. Melissa M. Lueken Says:

    Videotape? With a box of videotapes?? I never!

    And I’ll second that Happy Mother’s Day! Mothers are truly remarkable, are they not?

Leave a Reply

