The (I, Eye, Aye)’s Have It

You’d better live in love than luxury, it’s alright. And don’t be dining out on foolish dreams…every night. It only takes a moment to feel alright. Get fresh at the weekend…showing out! Showing out! Yeah, Mel & Kim, sing us into the weekend, even if that first line doesn’t make sense!

Yesterday afternoon I had an eye doctor appointment and since I was there last year, as the last few before that, my vision hasn’t changed. And, with my insurance plan, I was entitled to either lenses or a pair of glasses. Since I’m well stocked on lenses and even though I didn’t need another pair of glasses, I found a frame that was me to a new degree and I chose to get them. Not sure how often I’ll wear them since I live, night and day, week after week in a pair of contacts. But I did get a prescription for something for blepharitis, which my doctor wanted to know why I didn’t tell her I had. Curses.

Afterwards, we went to IHOP for dinner and the place was still decorated for Easter. I had a Brian Regan moment, too. When we were paying the bill, the girl at the register whom I’ll call,  Ihop Register Girl said to me, “Thank you and come again soon.” I said, “You, too”.  Oh, and I just threw that last “aye” in for kicks. When is Talk Like A Pirate Day? September 19, 2010.  I hope nothing else is on my calendar for that day.  Aye!

The Prom debate is in full swing. Is it “the Prom” or “Prom”; I’m going to ‘prom’ – or – I’m going to ‘the prom’. See, my way of thinking is that prom is short for promenade, which is a formal dance, so in essence, in saying you’re going ‘to prom’ is that you’re going ‘to dance’. Well, I could be going to dance, but I’ll be in my living room and that’s not the prom. Secondly, a formal dance is a thing, a noun, so it only stands to reason that it would be preceded by the definite article, “the”. The same would hold true for the word ‘park’. If you say, I’m going to park, it’s assumed you are driving a car and will be performing an action, putting your vehicle in a stationary state and shutting off the engine. If you’re going to ‘the park’, you might very well be having a picnic or get caught up in a ball game.

This weekend we have our final Broadway show, “La Cage Aux Folles” with Kelsey Grammar. We’re putting ourselves on a Broadway diet, so to speak, to add to the money we can save to help pay for the work on the house. We’ve had the tickets for quite a while, before we thought we’d actually do this work. And! We’re going to see Metropolis, the re-release that I was talking about last week and rumor has it there might be some ginger snaps involved. And somehow we have to squeeze in our weekly weigh-ins.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The (I, Eye, Aye)’s Have It”

  1. Donna Says:

    Well, when you put “the prom” THAT way, it makes sense.
    Take luck!

  2. Melissa Says:

    Well, I’m going to K-Mart! (not “the” K-Mart) I’m going to Cirque du Soleil. (not “the” Cirque du Soleil) I’m going to Pumpkinfest. (if Pumpkinfest was a real thing in someone’s hometown, and everyone in that town knew/understood what Pumpkinfest was, no?)

Leave a Reply

