Once You Go Black…

What better way to cap off a full and busy weekend than to wake up in time to get back to work? My weekend began when I finished my hours some time before noon on Friday and I was meeting my mother and my friend Sue for lunch and afterwards I had several stops at various stores to make and when I got home, I was going to start cleaning the middle room upstairs, which, since well before the construction started on the house, had become a catch all and any signs of it ever having been a guest room had all but vanished; turns out there IS a bed in there after all. When Ariel got in, he dove headlong into the effort as well.

I don’t think I had time to mention it last week, but Saturday was the day the bathroom door was going to be installed–9 AM. The glass enclosure, however, may be a lost cause because our contractor fears the place he ordered it from went belly up. And we needed to be out of the house by eleven Saturday morning because we were meeting friends in New York to see “Banana Shpeel”. I’m not going to rate it, I’m just going to say it was a great way to spend an afternoon with some fun friends and awe-inspiring talent. Nine AM came, 9:15, 9:30, 9:45, 10:00…no door. Finally, tired of waiting, Ariel called and found out the door had not been delivered and the contractor was still waiting for it to arrive and it would most likely be Tuesday or Wednesday before he could get here to install the door and it would be to our (and his) benefit if we were to go out and get the kind of doorknob and hinges we wanted so that the entire job could be done at once. We glanced at each other with that skeptical glint in our eyes but nonetheless, made plans to go out Sunday to get that and few other things for another project we had in mind for the weekend.

Damn the glass enclosure, I used the new shower this weekend. In fact, we both did. And the sort of minor water splatter on the floor aside, it’s a great shower. We put the finishing touches on the guest room and now it’s ready for our house guests this coming weekend and even replaced the little television we had in that simply died. After we decided on the right door knob and hinges for the forthcoming bathroom door, we went 19″ television shopping and finally found one that was ten dollars cheaper (which is still more than I could have imagined a television would cost these days) than the lowest priced one in that store Where ALl the prices are Mostly, Allegedly loweR Than low. And whew! It really had been a long time since we used that room because the basic cable service I used to have in that room, without a box, now requires one of those adapter things which supposedly will bring in the channels I want, instead of 117-5. Huh?
Well, that wasn’t the end of the weekend, but that’s enough for now. And before I forget, I know it’s been a few weeks since May 17 th , but this weekend’s weigh in was Ariel: 202 (down 1)and Brian: 214 (up 2).

Coming up tomorrow: leak in basement stopped?

Oh yeah, and by the way, I got the points for Rue McClanahan. I just thought it in appropriate to say it last week.

Leave a Reply

