It’s Hot In Here

Summer officially began at 7:28 this morning. For the last few weeks, while the weather has been getting warmer, I’ve been perplexed why it’s been so, almost unbearably warm here in my office. True, the thermostat for the central air has been set at the same on/off times since I used to work out of the house in my stained glass shop in Newark and would go off soon after I would have left the house (around 6 or 6:30, depending on my mood) and come back on in a timely fashion so it would be comfy in here when I returned, but it’s just been ultra warm. Well it finally dawned on me that since we reconfigured the office, my back is to the east window (sounds fancy, doesn’t it?) and like you probably know by now it sometimes takes a while for things to sink in–the summer sun is pouring in through that window. How do you spell duh? B-r-i-a-n. As far as that thermostat thing, maybe it’s time I rethink how the on/off is set since it’s been about 5 years since we closed that stained glass business. B-r-i-a-n.

By the time any of you are reading this, I’m either on my way to or already sitting in the dentist chair getting my two back teeth bonded. Ho hum. I have one lone tooth that for years has been collapsing into the space between it and the rest of my teeth–it’s actually laying nearly horizontally–and it’s getting too close for comfort for my dentist and he wants to take care of it before it gets any worse. And then next week I have a follow up with my regular doctor to talk over my high cholesterol numbers and the week after that I have a new dermatologist in NY I’m going to see. What did you do over your summer vacation?

We celebrated Ariel and our friend Sue’s birthdays this past tessarian* weekend at The Sands in Pennsylvania and on a 40 cent bet on a penny machine, Ariel won $348. Of course it was after he’d gone through a couple of C-notes but the point is… And with my big windfall of $20, we actually walked away with ten dollars more than we started out with.

While we’re still waiting for the permits to come through for the work on the house to begin, I heard this morning on the news that if by July 1 the state budget has not been approved, the state government will shut down. I just wonder how that trickles down to effect us and our house project. My contractor was here last week talking about working on repairing the front stoop, since it’s part of the project anyway, just so he can add to his list of minor jobs he’s taking while he waits and he’s refusing any other larger jobs. But good news, he believes the enclosure will be available in two weeks and he will get that installed for us. That means I have two weeks more to try to locate a picture of the original bathroom. Or else I’ll have to put drawing skills to work. How does one draw a stick figure bathroom?

Tessarian: of or pertaining to dice or gambling.

One Response to “It’s Hot In Here”

  1. Donna Says:

    Oh come on, you draw very well. Remember, you almost went to art school! HA!

Leave a Reply

