Vacation…Playing Catch Up

Wow, it’s already July 8th. Where does the time go? Seems like just yesterday I was bemoaning not being in Provincetown…oh, wait, I was. No, actually, quite frankly, by now I’ve come to terms with not being there this year, considering in just another 2 days we’d be on our way home, and it took me no time at all to get used to not getting up at the crack of dawn. So let me catch you up briefly with what I’ve been up to.

For the Fourth, we went to Asbury Park and met up with our friend Bobby who we normally would be in Ptown with. We stayed in a hotel about three miles from the beach and by a stroke of luck and by asking directions at a gas station (even our GPS’s couldn’t find this place) we managed to get there. We hung out at the club/hotel/pool we usually go to and behaved when it came to drinking because we’d eventually have to drive back to No Man’s Land and cops were EVERYWHERE.

I was texting back and forth with one of our friends, Jim, who was up in Ptown. He sent pictures of anything and everything Ptown and one of him and Pete, who, if you remember I mentioned last year had been in a horrifying motorcycle accident a while back and by a miracle survived. I realized then, seeing that picture how much I missed  being up there. We watched the fireworks from the boardwalk. They were set off on the beach and I pulled up Kate Smith singing “God Bless America” with my YouTube app on my phone. And then it was over and we’d gotten over the ‘you know where we weren’t’ hump. I don’t know if it was because of the holiday or simply because the town is in resurgeance, but the boardwalk was packed!

Tuesday we both had skin doctor appointments in New York and now I can say I’ve been in the city on both the coldest day and the hottest days of the year; the coldest being years ago when I brought my mother in to see the store windows done up for Christmas and the second we got on the street out of Penn Station, it was all we could do to keep our fingers from freeze drying and snapping off like twigs. And Tuesday was the complete opposite. It didn’t take much time before it became useless in trying to adjust a sagging shirt sleeve or hike up one’s khaki shorts, everything was saturated and matted down.

Once we were done at the doctor’s office, where he did a full exam, unlike the dermatologist I left (he even made me ‘drop trou’ in front of his female nursing students , one behind the modesty curtain and the other allegedly with her back to us) and he removed the white calcified spot under my right eye my original doctor wouldn’t touch without extra monetary compensation, we went to the Museum of S-E-X because the Museum of The City Of New York and all it’s incredible sounding exhibits would be closed in less than an hour after we would have gotten there, and we learned all about the evolution of the skin business from the earliest stag films to the no holds barred blatancy of current times. We also learned how sex sells and what is and isn’t appropriate for American audiences. The manufacturing and apparent other uses for condoms (such as a stylish party dress fashioned from scads of them and other things I won’t gross you out with) was on the second floor and on the third floor, where the inside temperature met the outside temperature in spite of all fans blowing, were the animal exhibits and we also learned there is one species of bird who enjoys a homosexual necrophiliac relationship with dead mallards. Go figure.
We ended the day in Chelsea were we had a latish lunch, then went to a hangout bar we’ve been known to frequent, downed a few cold ones and headed out for dinner.

Yesterday was a lazy day, really too hot to care a lick about anything and we spent it puttering around the house and late in the afternoon the Lou Crew came to work on the upstairs bathroom. And I guess we were still lamenting just a little about The Cape because we decided it would be The Bonefish Grille for dinner, just to add a little seafood dinner to our vacation. Oh, and next time, I have to tell you about the other leak I took care of in the basement; there’s exciting news from the world of candy to share with you and I have the answer to the burning question: did he, or didn’t he get on The Circle Line? So, you’ve got that to look forward to, plus I’m sure there is more.

Wow, July the 8th, summer is almost over.

Sorry, I know I said briefly catch you up, but I’m nothing if not longwinded, you know that! 

2 Responses to “Vacation…Playing Catch Up”

  1. Jayne Says:

    Finally took a minute to stop by here. I need to do it more often. You always put a smile on my face. Love you both.

  2. Melissa Says:

    Summer is almost over?!?!? Hush your mouth, sir!

Leave a Reply

