Take The Second Piece

I had the toughest time getting started with this blog, trying to come up with an opening line, so Ariel suggested I write the second one first. So, that was it. And as soon as I think of an opening line, I’ll put it in. Kind of like how Grandma B would always say to take the second piece of cake (or pie, or whatever) because the first was always the most difficult and made such a mess. So, that’s what we do.

We’ve been wracking our brains over what color we want the new room painted and we both had an idea of what we wanted. Ariel looked online and I went through the color chips Lou left with me yesterday. We wanted something neutral, I was thinking something along the order of a mushroom, Ariel was thinking something grayish or beige. But we found something completely different than either of us had in mind and within 10 minutes of flipping through the color deck as thick as a Manhattan phone book we agreed on it.

I’m glad we got passed that so now we can start focusing on our next project…details to follow, but not for a while.

The Lou-Natics were here yesterday and did a final sanding on the spackle and then primed the walls and ceiling. Later in the afternoon a load of brick came and a couple of rows got put on and here are pics from that. You can tell the new ones because there’s no grouting. And, is that a receptacle under the left window in the other picture? Yes it is! I didn’t notice that when I took the picture. Man, this is all getting so exciting.

         

Remember yesterday I mentioned about the iPad and the imminent demise of the pencil because it’s so loud. Well, believe it or not, there are things you can do with your long-forgotten Ticonderoga No. 2.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 I remember when I impressed myself one time when I was able to sharpen a pencil right down to the metal band that holds the eraser. And imagine my glee when I successfully sharpened a point with a razor blade. Big whoop! (sorry for the inclusion of the house pics again in that slide show–occupational hazzard…it’s that all these pictures were uploaded for this single post)

One last thing. I have a link for you from another friend of mine, Theresa. She has started her business, Flip Flop Flair, and I offered to mention it on my blog. Take a look, maybe you’ll see something you’ll like, or you’ll know someone who might.

By the way, I never did think of that first sentence. Oh well.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Take The Second Piece”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Awesome pencils! 🙂

Leave a Reply

