The New Addition ~ or ~ Back…With A Vengeance

There’s big news afoot concerning the new addition, but before I tell you that, there’s another new addition to tell you about; the arrival of Ariel’s niece’s baby boy, Yonathan Rey. He was due to arrive over a week ago and when he still wouldn’t make his appearance by this past Tuesday, Baby Rita, as she likes to be called, was brought to the hospital so her doctor could induce labor. But even that wasn’t working. This time the natural progression of things wasn’t cooperating so yesterday at 10 am, the baby was born via Caesarean section. So, without further ado, I present on behalf of proud parents Baby Rita and Juan, 8 lb-7oz, 19 1/4″ baby Yonathan.

Precious. I also heard yesterday that a friend of mine became a grandpa and another person at the office had a baby. Man, that stork has had a hectic schedule.

And then there’s the new addition, which now has half a wood floor in it, as evidenced below. When they arrived, I saw Lou was moving around with greater ease and was even on the floor lining up the slats. So, his back must have been feeling better.

My back, on the other hand, had a tremendous shock early yesterday morning. It’s been ages really since I’ve been at my weights and I thought, being Wednesday, I would finish out the week, sort of re-wet my feet as it were, start slow, and temper getting back into the groove for three days, see summer out with a good workout and hopefully be ready to go full tilt come next week. I set up my exercises, got my gear on and got down to work. I was working my back, doing lat pulldowns, and also was going to work my triceps. First up, back-always start with the larger muscle group. The way I get into position for this particular exercise is to hold the hand bar that’s connected to the cable that hooks onto weight bar and use the weight on the bar to counter my fat a$$ as I lower down to a sitting position on the floor. I grabbed the bar, lowered myself and I kept going with no resistance and before I knew it I had landed somewhere between the aforementioned fat a$$, my tail bone and the small of my back and the next thing I knew I was flat on the floor. To say I was stunned is an understatement, and I wasn’t quite sure if I conked my noggin on the floor as well but I was fairly sure I hadn’t. After the initial shock, and saw that I was able to move and get up, the thought that swelled up was MY TEETH. They, too felt fine.  Then I investigated the reason for my mishap…I hadn’t loaded my weights. Yesterday, DUH was spelled B-r-i-a-n.  Well, it’s spelled that way quite often. But yesterday was with all CAPS. As a pre-emptive measure, I downed a couple of doses of Advil but I think I’m out of the woods as far as any severe pain.

Fortunately, something like that should really only happen once, but I didn’t give myself the chance to find out today. I’m a little sore, I think the jolt caught up with me. So, I’ll see how it all feels tomorrow and try again.

Leave a Reply

