It’s Time For A Vacation When….

…Well, let me explain. The other day, last Friday, in fact, I had a short day to work because I had had a few longer days in the beginning of the week and it turned out I’d be able to go have lunch with my mother, after all. She’d asked me the day before, but because I had some things to do after work before we went to see the baby, I told her I wouldn’t be able to make it.

So, there I was, minding my business, working, and I had the TV on, watching Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon in “The Odd Couple” on Turner Classic Movies. The more I see Walter Matthau in movies the more I can appreciate what he’s all about. I never was much of a fan. Same with Mickey Rooney. I actually find myself looking forward to seeing an old Mickey Rooney movie.

Out of nowhere, well, actually, from the den, or so I thought, came the sound of the alarm clock feature on my phone. I had used it the day before to time a movie I was transferring to disc from my DVR upstairs, but that was for about 6pm and it was going off again around 10:30 in the morning. If the alarm isn’t shut off, it’ll just go off at the same time each day that is checked off for it to go off and I was certain I had shut it off when that DVR transfer was finished. But on it rang so I got up take care of it and found my phone was not where I keep it. I thought real quick of all the places it could have been, although now that ringing had stopped. The only thing left for me to do was to call my cell from the house phone and track that puppy down.

I made my way back into the office, after making the once around through the house, sat back at my desk and as I reached for the phone, there was my Droid, quietly laying on the file cabinet next to me. I brought up the alarm clock and found it was, in fact, turned off. So, what the…

Then I looked up and saw Oscar Madison talking on the phone. Out of curiosity, I rewound the movie just a tad and, well, whaddya know, Oscar’s phone rang just like the sound of the alarm on my phone. A

That’s when you know it’s time for a vacation, folks!

The Lou Crew was here yesterday and my fan is up. It took having his son come by to help the boys with it, because Lou is still having a rough time with his back. In fact, he spent two days in the hospital last week with it, hopefully he’ll be back on his feet soon. I have to say, that fan that looked monstrous, now looks small up there on the on the ceiling. I don’t have a picture of it yet, nor pictures of the moldings they worked on yesterday as well, but I hope to have those for tomorrow.

It strikes me I didn’t get to that review of the play we saw over the weekend. Hmm. Tomorrow.

In the meantime, it’s Tuesday and time once again for my weekly “Lucille” reminder. If you go to her page, don’t be put off by the fact that she has surpassed her original goal, let that be incentive to help add to her sponsorship, after all, she is the one who will be walking and giving cancer “a look!”. I’d like to think that some of you readers helped contribute to her total and I sincerely thank you for that. Please remember to pass the info along to someone else who might like to help out.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “It’s Time For A Vacation When….”

  1. Donna Ortman Says:

    reading about your phone alarm, I thought it was going to be another “ghost” story like the other day when you heard Ariel come home, but he wasn’t home. Glad it was just Oscar Madison’s phone!

Leave a Reply

