A Step Ahead, A Day Behind

By the time you read this, I’m hoping I will be in from my second 4 mile walk of the week; yesterday being the first. I would have mentioned it, but I had written yesterday’s blog Sunday night and then I didn’t even think to make the update. Likewise, I’m writing this last night. I think we walked a little further than we should have because either I mistakenly turned off the stopwatch app on my Droid as I was putting into my pocket or the volume was turned down and we didn’t hear it. The reason I’m suspicious that we walked more is because we were both dragging, try as we might to keep in step with the music we had playing, but it was just such a laborious walk, and a painful one, and it seemed impossible that we could have reached that 2 mile mark before the time went off and when I looked, it was all at zero’s. But then we reached the finish line in 30 minutes, so maybe the volume was low and we really did reach our spot.

“There’s a name for you ladies, but it isn’t used in high society–outside of a kennel”. That’s Crystal Allen’s last line in 1939’s “The Women”, admitting defeat to the equally scheming women she set out to defeat in pursuit of love and social status. I don’t know why I watched it again, but I did, I watched the current remake on TV yesterday. Yes, some of the classic lines are in there, like the one above, but so misplaced, and so languidly delivered, they make no sense, and have no impact. The Nobel prize given out in Sweden alluded to in the original was pared down to a reference of one of the main character’s maids being from Sweden and Lucy, the proprietress of the ranch in Reno where women awaited divorces from their spouses, was reduced to a golden retriever. Note to Diane English…say you’re sorry for desecrating a Hollywood Classic.

We heard from Lou yesterday. He called Ariel from his hospital bed. Still in the hospital and able walk with the aid of a walker. His sons will be here either today or tomorrow to continue where they left off when they were last here.

And now we may have another Lou in our midst. This one will be known as UpholsterLou. We have two chairs that were Grandma B’s we finally are trying to have reupholstered so we can use once the house construction is done. At least one of them will go in the old dining room and one possibly in my office. We’re hoping to find something close to a distressed leather in a hunter green, or comparable green. Grandma always wanted them recovered in green, and that’s the color scheme we’re going with in the addition, the old dining room which will become a sitting room/first floor guest room, sort of extension of the addtion, the kitchen and antekitchen–it’s a word, because I want it to be.

Here’s another update.  It’s Tuesday morning and we did get outside for our walk. When we got in, I sat here at the computer and did some more work on those rewrites. Apparently, at some point, I must have rewritten a scene and tucked it into place because as I was reading through the printed out pages with all my notes on them, the spot I was working on repeated and then I couldn’t find where either the original or the new scene left off, so I had to wing it. But I got back on track.

And here, here is where the “scratch me” came from. Watch until the end.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

