The Answer Is….

For a while now, I’ve had this idea stuck in my craw and up until last night Ariel has kind of poo-pooed it. I’ll tell you about that in a second, so…read fast!

First, though, this past weekend, while we were staying at the Crowne Plaza in Manhattan, I had the opportunity to take stock of my surroundings in the water closet and it occurred to me I have been lax in my “bottle openers in hotel rooms usually found in the bathroom” pictorial essay and to my chagrin, there wasn’t one in room 2619. But I’ve filed that thought away and will be more alert in the future.

I also had the opportunity to watch countless cooking shows on the Food Network, which, over the weekend featured “can’t do without” Thanksgiving recipes. Besides all the “y’all’s” (and you know who I mean, y’all!) and the “go ahead and add your…”, “go ahead and stir that…”, “go ahead and set that aside” (I’ve blogged about going ahead before), it struck me odd that we’re meant to be enticed by that ‘mmm-mmm’ testimonial and sudden look of enjoyment, that borders on ecstacy, along with a “now that’s what I call turkey stuffing (or pheasant under glass, or a ham and cheese sandwich) when each chef tastes his or her own creation. It’s kind of like how I feel at the end of each blog entry. Hey, someone has to!’

It’s so light you can cut it with a feather.

So, last night, during the fantastic pasta dish I put together…mmm-mmm…we were watching Jeopardy, as we always do and simultaneously we looked at each other in disbelief over one contestant’s “question” about which state was named after a British King, or worded closely to that. Later in the game another question/answer was played in reference to a title by Mark Twain and the response was “A Connecticut Yankee King Arthur’s Court”. And this was where Ariel admitted that what I’ve said for a long, long time may have some credence. Let me explain.

I’ve always thought the contestants were given the answers somehow, or in some way had them at hand, perhaps on a huge board of possible responses because frequently Alex Trebek will follow up a an answer with, “Now’s the time for ‘such and such’” when that answer would have been incorrectly given at a previous point in the game So, last night, when the contestant guessed Connecticut as the state that was named after a British King (when we synchronously agreed that was one thing he’ll have to live with for a very long time) and then later, there was the “Connecticut Yankee” response…that’s when Ariel said I might got somethin’ thar! Okay, fine, maybe he didn’t say it quite like that but you get the idea. So, do they have the answers at their disposal or is all really a coincidence? But, really, King Connecticut?

Now, now this is what I call a blog!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

