It Takes A Village

It’s that time of the year again. Is it Happy Holidays? Happy Winter Celebrations? Happy Overblown Overcrowded Pushy Shovy Try To Maintain Your Sanity Looking For A Bargain On Stuff Your Kids Won’t Even Appreciate Anyway So Why Bother Really Season?

Whatever it is to you, it’s Merry Christmas to me. And apparently it is to the Mayor of Philadelphia, Michael Nutter, who decided to reinstate the full name of the shopping plaza in the city to Christmas Village. Of course someone complained because Christmas gets a village and no one else does and the city overreacted and changed the name to appease everyone. Well, obviously not everyone. So, kudos to Mayor Nutter.

Then there’s the story about the Atheist billboard at the New Jersey entrance to the Lincoln Tunnel that says: “You know it’s a myth. This season, celebrate reason.” The Catholic League countered with its own billboard that reads: “You know it’s real. This season, celebrate Jesus.”

Okay, I’m not one for forcing my beliefs down the throats of others who would rather believe something else, but I also want to be able to hold onto what I believe in without being made a villain.

People don’t seem to realize, the changes that get made because of the people that make being offended by every little thing a way of life, whether it’s saying Merry Christmas or what have you (the list is boundless these days) offends other people, namely me. Having to say Happy Holidays offends me. I want to say Merry Christmas. And if you’re Jewish (or any other religion), why can’t you simply say to me, “I’m Jewish, I don’t celebrate Christmas” and let me correct myself. Don’t go getting all offended and make a big stink. Grow up, people.

And if you think about it, it might be the start of a conversation that might lead to a friendship that would lead us out of the cloistered, robotic way of thinking that some would have us believe is safer place to be. Alone and miserable is not safe. Go say Merry Christmas to someone and make a friend.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “It Takes A Village”

  1. Melissa Says:

    MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR! 🙂

    And yes, I second the notion that the people of this country, as a whole, need to grow up! It’s not a big deal! Tomay-to, tomah-to! I don’t like your shirt. You don’t like my shoes. So what!!

Leave a Reply

