Colder Than A Witch’s…!

If I make any typos in this blog it’s because my fingers are frozen. It’s a balmy -8 degrees here in my lovely ‘we care about our residents’ little hamlet. That’s a direct quote from someone in charge of ‘Mailbox Repair Due to Snowplow Mishaps’ department of said hamlet.

The carpet was installed on Saturday in just over 3 hours, even into one closet we decided not to have done because it was too overwhelming a stuffed mess, but because of their timing and sheer determination, we got it cleaned out and the crew was tipped handsomely for their extra work. We began putting the upstairs back together after they left and continued into late yesterday afternoon and then I spent who knows how long trying on the clothes I’d forgotten I had that was stuffed into that second closet and found that 7/8 of it no longer fit me, which will help keep that closet clean. And of course there’s the main closet in the other room which also went on a much needed diet. Let’s just say Fibber McGee no longer lives here. I have to take some ‘after’ pictures and will post them shortly.

One of us–I won’t mention who, but his name rhymes with Brian–decided that sure, maybe ought to paint downstairs so everything will be fresh and new and get it over with. I really have to have a long talk with me about stuff like that. But it’ll be done and behind us and we can other things to look forward to.

We got our tickets for the Rod Stewart/Stevie Nicks concert for March 26 at Madison Square Garden. On the Ticketmaster website they have a feature so you can get a virtual point of view glimpse of where your seats are.

Jack LaLanne died. I didn’t get the points for him. 96 years old. Gosh (gosh? really?) I remember watching him when I was a kid on the black and white set.

And here, courtesy of Ariel, is a feel good video to get your week started.

Oh, yeah, about the mailbox, workers converged in my driveway to investigate why it kept flying away when the snowplows passed. I watched as they wiggled the box for a brief few seconds then got back in their trucks and drove away. The main guy returned to my door to tell me they checked it out, without realized I was watching all the while, that they deemed the box secure. Funny, I thought, considering it was being held down in the same fashion it has been since it was installed. They didn’t want to mar the sleek design with unsightly brackets so if it happens again, call and we’ll make sure it’s taken care of. I’m going to use that same ‘gosh? really?’ line I used above. Later in the afternoon I went out armed with my drill, some brackets and some screws and secured my mailbox. And if you’re not looking for them, you don’t see the brackets I put on. Hmm.

3 Responses to “Colder Than A Witch’s…!”

  1. Donna Says:

    Gosh! Way to go with the brackets! 🙂

  2. Donna Says:

    I just watched the dog video. At first I thought “What a SMART dog!” Now I’m thinking “What a BUSY dog!” Wow!! Very cute and useful!

  3. Melissa Says:

    Maybe I could teach Bob some of those tricks … hmmm …

Leave a Reply

