Thursday. Snow. Mailbox?

I’m not sure what I’m going to talk about today, but I wanted to post something so I could…talk about forgetting stuff…I have another two pictures, a before and after of the paint job in the kitchen. It took me a while to hunt down the before pic and I actually found it a week or so ago, but something shiny apparently kept distracting me becasue I kept forgetting to put it up. Well, because Ariel needs them for his continuing Powerpoint presentation of the entire shebang from start to finish, I, well, blah, blah, blah.

I know I put up a picture of one kitchen wall but that doesn’t show you the hideousness of what was there. Actually, it wasn’t all that hideous, well, maybe just a little. The concept was good and it worked and the combination was classic… Well, if you’ve been following along since the start of the House Construction Project, you’ve seen green and orange walls in the kitchen. They really looked great together, but for all the time it was there, I was never happy with the orange. Not the color, just the way it covered the wall. It was streaky and blotchy and dark in spots. The only thing is, the before picture is a little compromised because it was taken with my old phone and the “after” with my Droid. I love my Droid. Do you know I can get Sirius satellite radio on it?

 

It’s actually last night that I’m writing this, watching American Idol and peeking every now and then through the window to see if the second onslaught of snow which has the potential of dropping as much as 12 additional inches has yet begun, and to be endlessly paranoid and repetitive, wondering how my mailbox will fare through it all.

You know what’s kind of comical? The way weather people try to mask the nuisance of snow with pretty words; the white stuff, the fluffy stuff, the powdery stuff. Doesn’t make it any less annoying.

And you know what else I found funny? I saw a TV advertisement yesterday hawking a replica of the late Princess Diana’s 18-carat sapphire and diamond engagement ring which now graces the hand of Kate (or Catherine, as the Queen prefers) Middleton since her engagement to Prince William. The replica thing isn’t what strikes me funny, but it’s the tag line in the ad that you can “own a piece of history”.

Okay, so American Idol is over and my favorite of the night was Naima Adedapo who sang “For All We Know” by Donny Hathaway.  And Chris Medina has the all-time most heart-wrenching “tragic” story that American Idol always seems to feature.  From all the stories I’ve ever heard, his brought me to tears. He may not win American Idol, but his death do us part attitude toward his now wheelchair bound fiance proves he’s already a winner.

This just in:  it’s 6:20 am and I finally decided to roll out of bed, knowing the task ahead of me (us) and I’m happy to report that my mailbox is still standing in spite of the 3 foof wall of the white stuff at the foot of my driveway. I can’t say the same for the garbage can that I dragged out at the last minute last night because the recorded message from my trash collecting company said there would be normal service this morning and the garbage gets picked up between 5:30 and 6. So, before I trudge out to move the snow armed with a belly full of hot oatmeal and coffee, let me show you some views around the house. 

  

Looking out my garage door. Those low hanging branches are normally several feet above my head. The view from my front door and of course the patio and that little nub way in the corner is my fire pit which I haven’t seen since the day I put it out there and took pictures the day before Christmas. We have had snow on the ground since December 26 and it’s really getting monotonous. But my mailbox is still standing!

Leave a Reply

