Yes, We Have No CO

We have no CO yesterday. Or today. No, no, no, no, no, it’s not all that dire. It’s scheduled for next Monday and all the inspectors will be here at once.

Here’s another situation that reared up and got solved before I had a chance to blog about it. A Texas school district was going to be forced by the education bureau in Washington to institute a mandatory Arabic culture curriculum and it was done without parents’ knowledge. Mandatory? The idea behind it is because Arabic is described as the “language of the future” and the plan would have involved embedding the culture in all facets of school topics like discussing the Arabic roots of the word “algebra” to serving Middle Eastern food at a class party.

I heard about this yesterday morning and by the time I went to write about it last night, I see that due to the outrage and protests of parents and school officials saying that because of the concern that the Arabic culture could not be taught without discussion about Islam the plan has been put on hold. As one angry parent was quoted as saying, ” The school does not teach Christianity, so I don’t want them teaching Islam.”

Next problem. Did I tell you that my computer, I guess, crashed the other morning? Well, I finally got most of my programs reinstalled but I’m still working on getting my mSpot up and running again. That’s the app from my Droid that ties in my iTunes library with my phone and I can carry my music with me without my iPod. Well, because of the crash and that we wiped the entire computer clean, my mSpot downloader no longer exists. Sure, the music is still on my phone, in the cloud, as it were, but I can no longer add to it. If I want to add to it, I have to reinstall the downloader and because it’s not set up as a “network” and can only be used on one machine at a time, I’ll have to wipe out my current mSpot library and start from scratch. Many of the songs I was able to recover from various sources, but I had things on there that were from rather exclusive sources and unfortunately I didn’t have them backed up externally. So, dear readers, take a lesson from Michael Baxter and me: Save, save, save your documents! It might be just music or it could be the entire manuscript of your novel (which thankfully was backed up, otherwise I’d be in a straightjacket and not writing this blog) that could be lost forever.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Yes, We Have No CO”

  1. Melissa Says:

    About the school-thing … um, I guess I don’t particularly have a PROBLEM with it; I just don’t quite understand WHY. Seems entirely unnecessary. 1. Who decided that Arabic was the language of the future? This is the first I’m hearing of it. 2. Why not indoctrinate other cultures as well? English? Scottish? Chinese? Jewish?! Ha! It just kind of makes you go, “hmm?” I mean, is reading, writing, and ‘rithmetic not good enough anymore? It’s school for crying out loud. Teach the basics! Am I right or am I right? (or maybe I’m not ?? hehe)

Leave a Reply

