Cleveland Rocks!

Last night’s theme was songs from The Rock ‘N Roll Hall of Fame. Will.i.am came in to coach the shenanigans and Gwen Stefani styled the girls. Holla Back!

Getting right into it, Jacob decided to change his original choice of Marvin Gaye’s “Let’s Get It On” in favor of Michael Jackson’s “Man In The Mirror” because he didn’t feel it, singing about doing “it”. Well, maybe he should have stuck with doing “it” because his performance was just so-so, kind of flat and a little monotone.

Haley took on Janis Joplin’s “Take Another Piece of My Heart”. Please let this be her last week! That’s all I’m saying on that topic. She grunted more than Constipation Casey ever has. Speaking of whom…he was right after Haley with “Have You Ever Seen The Rain” by CCR. It would have been good, it actually started off kind of palatable, but then he got all…constipated and nasally with it.

Katherine McPhee, sorry, Lauren Alaina sang Aretha Franklin’s “Natural Woman” next. I wanted not to like it, but I have to admit she did an admirable job on it.

James Durbin pulled it back with George Harrison’s “While My Guitar Gently Weeps”. I don’t think this was the right song for him to sing. He’s definitely more suited for a rocking performance.

Cutey-pie Scotty chose the perfect song to mix his country roots with the “rock” theme, the rockabilly sound of Elvis Presley’s “That’s Alright, Mama”.

Pia shrieked through “River Deep Mountain High” by Tina Turner. Hmm. It had its moments, but when she reached for those high notes, quite a few times, it took some doing and she was definitely straining almost like she had a throat full of chalk dust. She needs to reign in that over-enthusiasm just a smidge and this could have been the song of the night.

Stefano gave his all with Percy Sledge’s “When A Man Loves A Woman”, but I don’t believe it was enough. He started off very high, came back down to earth, went high again, came back down and coasted there, thankfully. It was good, not great, but I’ve said it before, singing loud is not singing passionately. And I’m afraid I didn’t feel that Stefano passion that seems to be losing ground week after week.

Helium inflated Rod Stewart, aka Paul McDonald closed the show with Johnny Cash’s “Folsom Prison”–a spirited rendition. Not one of my favorite contestants, but I enjoyed this performance.

So now who do I put in the bottom 3 and more importantly, who do I send home? I’m torn between 2 for my 3rd spot in the bottom 3 but this is what I’m going with.

                          

Tags:

One Response to “Cleveland Rocks!”

  1. Gary Collins Says:

    I concur with most of your observations . . . but I still am a fan of Pia . . . I thought she rocked it! Ah, well . . . we’ll just have to agree to disagree. I couldn’t stand Paul’s Cash impersonation . . . ugh . . . though he looked like he was having fun. All in all, I thought it a very entertaining night and that as a group, they have as much talent or more than any other group — other groups had stand outs — this group –no one’s pulled away from the pack yet.

Leave a Reply

