Movie Night

The media is still abuzz with the astounding elimination of Pia last week. I, too, say it was a mistake, but apparently you humans are hearing something in Haley that I’m not. I’m not going to dwell on it, I’m only going to keep wishing she was gone. And congratulations to Jenny from the block for being named People Magazine’s Most Beautiful Woman in the World.

Music from the movies was the theme last night and Paul was up first with “Old Time Rock and Roll”. You may not believe this, but I used to roller skate to this song. You never saw such teeny tiny skates…and four of them yet! Where was I? Oh, yeah, Paul. I think it’s his jumping around that adds to whatever the appeal is. He started off like a sleepy Rod Stewart and I was like…YES!, he’s bombing, and he eventually picked up the pace, but, alas, still wasn’t anything worth noting.

Lauren then sang “The Climb”, though I couldn’t understand what song she said through her mumbling. Nothing really special, weak…kinda. Safe, is what I think the judges should tell her. J-lo told her she has a tear in her voice. I have a tear in my eye from having to hear that.

Stefano, fresh from that close call last week, decided “End Of The Road” by Boyz II Men was going to help him wipe out that memory. He has to be careful; that song has a special place in my heart. I’m sorry, and you know I like him, but he just didn’t do it for me. Could this be a prophetic choice tonight? And will those back up singers just please shut UP?

“Cross My Heart” was Scotty’s choice to get back “in touch” with his country roots. Really, Scotty? Typical Scotty; easy, smooth, confident, I just wasn’t sure about this veritible unfamiliar tune.

Indecisive Constipation Casey wavered between “Nature Boy” and “In The Air Tonight” but decided on “Nature Boy”. I still say the judges were premature in using their save for season.

Haley took on Blondie with “Call Me”. Oh, good grief. Right out of the gate…if she doesn’t go this week, I’m officially going off duty! She just made everyone else who sang tonight sound like a million bucks.

I was wishing Jacob wouldn’t have done that with his voice while he sang “Bridge Over Troubled Water”, dipping to that real low note that sounded almost comical, but as he sang, he kept building and building until he exploded in the end, giving us the best of the night up to this point.

Closing the show was James Durbin singing Sammy Hagar’s “Heavy Metal”. James held to his convictions that he was going to sing what he wanted and it paid off. He brought the house down.

Well, here goes:    

Until next time….

Tags:

Leave a Reply

