GaGa Idol

Last night was the American Idol stylings of the Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller songbook and as per his own boycott, The Ghost of Commander was nowhere to be found. Lady Gaga was the night’s mentor but James came barreling out of the chute without benefit of any mentoring. He sang Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believing” He was alright. I think he’s done better and the night, at that point was still young so we’ll see what else he can do to wow me. As long as Haley goes, I don’t care how James sings. (Turns out, GaGa wouldn’t be out until the second half of the show)

Speaking of whom, she sang Michael Jackson’s Earth Song. I don’t know this song, but the general consensus in the house is that it was horrible and we happen to have the consummate Michael Jackson here….my niece Melissa. And because I’m the furthest thing from an MJ fan, I have to take her word for it and she wholeheartedly agreed with J-lo and Randy’s opinions.

Scottypants sang Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning by Alan Jackson. It’s a known fact that everyone loves Scottypants and with good reason. He’s so in the Scotty zone, he’s always Scotty, he never tries to be anything but that.

Lauren cleaned up the first round with Martina McBride’s Anyway.

Finally here comes the Lady Gaga mentoring round. She was decked out in a modified Cruella DeVille get up, with angular protrusions at the temples and garish black makeup around the eyes and redder than red lipstick to mentor and her first task was Haley who smugly sang I Who Have Nothing as if to tell the judges a big F you for their comments. I hate her. Can somebody knock her in the back of the head with one of her spike heels?

Scottypants sang The Coasters’ Young Blood. Again we have an animated and playful Scotty and I agree with J-lo this time, he does need to find a midway point. He can do the ballad, he can do the playful.

Lauren took on Elvis Presley’s Trouble. It started off great while it was all ballad-y, primed to be the best performance of the night, but then she revved it up a little too much and the fevered interlude got the better of her. Her performance lost its oomph.

Love Potion No. 9 by The Drifters was James’ last offering to close out the show. Again, it was good, and I like him, but I’m just not feeling him tonight.

Aside from the over the top theatrics of Lady Gaga, I have to say she gave useful advice to the contestants from the viewpoint of current musical tastes. Rather then just tell them they had to “bring it”, the canned reply most mentors seem to have, she told them what they had to do in order to bring it. I was impressed.  

I’m not having a bottom 3 of my own, I’m just sending Haley home. She’s too conceited and full of entitlement to go any further. And maybe Commander will be back to close out the season.

~~~~~~******~~~~~~~

Reminder: Roger Howarth returns to One Life to Live tomorrow. Set your DVR’s, VCR’s, Betamax’s (if you still have one of those) or just stay home from work if you have to and tune in at 2pm (1pm central) but I take no responsiblity for that.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “GaGa Idol”

  1. Melissa Says:

    You know, I was actually impressed with Lady Gaga’s “advice” as well. Surprised … and impressed. Surprised because I really expected the worst. She just hides the fact that she just may have some musical talent with all of the drama and theatrics.

Leave a Reply

