I Say F That!

I turned on the TV yesterday morning to watch my daily dose of Headline News with Robin Meade and the Casey Anthony trial was being shown live. I guess it was Linda Drane Burdick, the Assistant State Attorney who was in the middle of her opening statement and at one point, while she was reading testimony, she read aloud some quotes and one of them contained the “F” word. Well several seconds later, Robin Meade chimed in with an apology for the coarse language being used and they went to a commercial. When they came back, she announced they were going on a delay so that in case any more F bombs were let loose, we’d be spared. Then I thought, that sucks. How is the news channel responsible for the language in the trial? Did they sugar coat the quotes the attorney read for the sake of the jury and spectators in the courtroom?  Kind of a sad state of affairs when even the news cannot be reported as it happens. I guess we really do live in a sterile bubble because someone of some importance deems it so.  I say phuque that!

We set up a series of inline sprinklers with a timer for the garden last night and set if for a virgin run and it turned on and turned off and there was happiness here at Leaning Pines. There was also chicken salad sandwiches and penne with vodka sauce. There was also a tear to the eye, but I’ll get to that after.

Wow, I almost forgot, I needed to leave room for American Idol. Lauren was tanked up on meds to help her get passed a strained vocal cord. She injured herself during rehearsal, but the doctor assured everyone she would be alright for the night. Round one would be each contestants’ favorite song of the season, round two, the idols’ Idols picking songs for them  and round three would be each one’s first single.

First up was Scotty doing Gone and of course he was our beloved Scottypants and Lauren chose Flat On The Floor. In spite of her voice being in jeopardy, she sounded good. There might have been a moment when she sounded a little compromised and a look of concern came to her face, and they cut to J-lo who also looked on a little distressful.

George Strait chose Check Yes Or No (his own song) for Scotty. And Carrie Underwood chose Maybe It Was Memphis  for Lauren’s second song.

Jimmy Iovine announced Scotty’s first single I Love You This Big, should he win, to be his final song of the night. Then Lauren’s song was Like My Mother Does.

Though I’d love for Scotty to win, I think Lauren has a slight edge. But you know what? In spite of that, I’m choosing Scotty, though this year, I’m really torn and would be okay for either to win. Tonight is our annual American Idol finale party, which coincidentally serves as a combination birthday party for Ariel and our friend Sue. Their birthdays are about a week apart and if we don’t do it along with the Idol finale, it can get to be August or September before we do any celebrating. It has happened!

 ~~~~~~~*******~~~~~~~~

The tear to the eye I spoke of earlier was because the opening scene of my story last night was Kassie DePaiva’s “Blair” rehearsing a song at Capricorn… Here’s what you do when you don’t find the rainbow’s end, this time. Here’s where you go when it looks like the rain won’t end, don’t cry. I’ll give you to-m”… and she abruptly stopped, slapping the sheet music down saying “This is depressing.” Those are the opening lines to the One Life to Live theme from back in the 80’s when Peabo Bryson sang over a montage of images of Llanview and its characters. So, it’s obvious we’re seeing the beginning of the… No, I won’t say it. I’m just gonna keep fighting.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “I Say F That!”

  1. helpsaveoursoaps Says:

    DEAR, DEAR BRIAN, DONT EVER GIVE UP! IF ENOUGH PEOPLE VOICE THEIR OPINIONS ABOUT THIS TO THE RIGHT PEOPLE IN THE RIGHT WAY WE WILL PREVAIL IN THIS…NOW CLOSE YOUR EYES AND SAY THIS TO YOUR SELF…I DO BELIEVE IN SOAPS , I DO BELIEVE IN SOAPS 🙂 KYMBA OUT

Leave a Reply

