A Win In The Rain

You know how I’ve always said my house is haunted–the noises I hear like things dropping; the time I heard Ariel come in the house, rattling his keys walking through the house when he wasn’t actually home for another 20 or so minutes; the times I heard furniture dragging across the floor upstairs? Well, for a minute there yesterday, I thought I found my culprit. But after some research, I decided I didn’t have a squatter living in my house, after all. In my mail, there was a flyer addressed to someone with the last name of the people that lived her before us and I presumed the company it was from didn’t come into existence until within the last nearly 13 years we live here. But I did some research and found the company had begun only 3 years before, so it’s possible she was a customer. I get mail for those people from time to time, but this was for a different person, that I can recall, at least. And I can probably use the coupon, so, that’s a win!

So, when it rains, it pours. My vacation officially starts 5 hours after I begin work today and of course there’s that rain predicted for the 4th when we’ll be down the shore. But to add insult to injury, today is day 4 of being sick. I woke up in the middle of the night Tuesday  in a sweat with a sore, scratchy  throat that kept me up for the rest of the night. I figured, oh, it’ll clear up in a day or two, thankful my “summer cold” I seem to get every year (recent developement in the past few years) was hitting this week instead of next, but here it is Friday and my head is still like a block of cement. I was even so out of it the other day I did the unthinkable. I took a nap in the middle of the afternoon! So, we’ll see how much longer it lasts into my vacation time. Nothing but fun under this black cloud! But my garden is growing!

The Casey Anthony prosecution rebuttal case continues today and then from what I understand, tomorrow will be closing arguments and then the jury will be deliberating over the weekend. You know I’m gonna be tuned in, in some fashion. I just don’t know. I think she’s guilty, through and through and where I thought her father and brother were involved in the cover up and that the mother was not, now I’m thinking differently, that the mother was as well. Now I’m thinking the brother wasn’t. Now I’m thinking the father wasn’t.  Now I’m thinking he was. I sure as heck wouldn’t want to be on that jury. I sure as heck don’t want to be on any jury.

Well, Happy Fourth of July everyone.

While I was updating my main web page for July, I found the different incarnations of the Pledge of Allegiance. On my web page is the original version (1892), which was published in a children’s magazine, The Youth’s Companion, as a National public school celebration of Columbus’ arrival in America. Here are the revised versions up to our current one, the changes are in bold:

1892-1923: I pledge allegiance to my flag and to the republic for which it stands: one nation indivisible with liberty and justice for all.

1923-1924: I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States and to the republic for which it stands: one nation indivisible with liberty and justice for all.

1924-1954: I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America and to the republic for which it stands: one nation indivisible with liberty and justice for all.

1954-Present: I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

Check out Kymba’s newly designed web page:

Tags: , ,

One Response to “A Win In The Rain”

  1. Melissa Says:

    I pledge allegiance to the flag!

Leave a Reply

