Hello, Hello?

My ears are ringing off the hook. Actually, I don’t know if they’re ringing louder than normal (a condition my ear doctor says not to worry about since they’ve done that as far back as I can remember) or it just seems that much more intense after last night’s assault. We went to see Erasure and it wasn’t until we left did we realize just how LOUD it was in there. But, wow, what a show. I lost track of time, and not sure how long they actually were on stage…I’m guessing an hour and a half, or close to it and it was non-stop energy and lead singer Andy Bell is just tireless. I have to admit I wasn’t familiar with most of the stuff they sang, but that didn’t stop me from dancing and having a blast. Thise were the best pics I got.  I don’t know why we didn’t bring the camera, the new super zoom camera we decided we needed for future concerts since  we saw Grace Jones and we were huffing and puffing in jealousy that all the other cameras around us zoomed in so closer her entire face filled the screen and we thought it would be a good thing to get with the times.  Alas and alack! 

 

Thankfully I quit drinking early on in the evening. I had a coupla brewskies at Rumours, an Irish Pub en route to find Terminal 5, where Erasure performed and then a few once we got there, but for fear of having to find the men’s room and not wanting to have to navigate that crowd for that or another lukewarm beer plus I didn’t want to wear it courtesy of  the manic crowd’s or my own  moshing. So the only thing going on as a result  is hearing things like they’re underwater with a constant heightened droning monotone of background noise of what sounds like metal grating on itself, almost like the muffled static of a morse code transmission. That’s the best I can do to describe it. Thankfully I know what Lucy, Ricky, Ethel and Fred’s voices sound like so I can ignore that intimation that they’ve inhaled helium. At least I can find solace in the fact that everyone else from last night is dealing with the same condition this morning.

As we bore (bored? beared?).. suffered  the stifling humidity from Rumours to Hudson Eatery (gotta know that recipe for the appetizer I had which I don’t see on their online menu) a horse drawn carriage was approaching in the street. The driver was a slouching young man, dressed in a T-shirt and worn jeans with a Yankees ball cap cocked on his head. I thought, wow, that doesn’t seem so ‘romantic’ the image one might conjure from a ride in a horse drawn carriage. A few seconds later, another came into view and I could see the driver, an older gentleman, had on a vest, possibly part of a uniform and a hat to match and I thought, now that’s more like it, until he got closer and I saw he was texting on a cell phone.

Yes, it really is a new world and I’ve (we’ve) been thrust into it whether we like it or not or are ready for it or not.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

