A Christmas Village?

I don’t know if I should be for, against or on the fence about the fact that mall Santas are now taking responsibility to tell kids not to expect all the things on their Christmas lists due to the volatile economic climate.

I’m trying to think back to when I was a kid, having breakfast with Santa at Bamberger’s what I might have told him I wanted him to bring me for Christmas morning. If I know my parents, it wasn’t a greedy entitled boat load of stuff. I don’t remember exactly what I asked for or if I even got it, but if that was like any other time I wanted something, I may not have gotten it. I’m not saying my parents were mean or didn’t want me to have things, I’m saying they probably couldn’t afford it or didn’t think I really needed it. Hey, I got over not having everything I ever wanted handed to me without question a long time ago and I’ve made it to a ripe old age of 51…so far.

True, today’s economic climate is frightening to say the least and most things that kids want nowadays cost a small fortune, monetarily and emotionally–why should Johnny not have what Joey has? And that sense of entitlement has to stem from somewhere, right? The parents, perhaps? Maybe out of guilt for having to work seemingly around the clock to make ends meet? Maybe not wanting to have to deal with a complaining child? Maybe wanting to be the kid’s friend rather than a parent? I’m not placing blame, just hypothesizing–everyone has a story that not everyone can, or needs to understand.

And I realize that Santa is the go-to guy to make Christmas wishes come true like magic but I don’t know if it’s his place to tell kids about the gloomy economic times. It’s my opinion that these kids’ expectations need to be reeled in a little bit, not only at Christmas, but all the time. Maybe this current climate of counting pennies is the perfect time to instill the fact that you can’t always get what you want. So, I guess I’m more against having Santa break their hearts than either of the other two choices.

 

Here’s an interesting tidbit. I was watching a whacked out movie yesterday afternoon with Geraldine Page and Glenn Ford called Dear Heart. The plot of the movie isn’t the interesting tidbit, but the fact that both Alice Pearce and Sandra Gould had parts in it. Both those actresses, as you may know, played Gladys Kravitz on Bewitched.

And I leave you for the weekend with a quote I heard from someone being interviewed about something cataclysmic or other on the news. “And then I realized, what’s going on here?”

One Response to “A Christmas Village?”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Thanks for that quote. That is great! Wait, what was it?

    As far as the “poor economic times,” I would say that it is important for parents to teach children the value of money from an early age … and the value in working for the things you want … and the value in things in general (or the lack of value in things, for that matter).

    And I will add that … I very rarely got a happy meal from McDonald’s growing up … because it was more expensive than just ordering a regular hamburger and fries. And you know what? I’m glad about that!! What fun would it be if you always got what you wanted? I mean, it really makes you appreciate the things you DO have so much more … or when something REALLY great happens! For me, a happy meal was a treat! It wasn’t something that I just expected to get every time we went to McDonald’s. And of course, this same principle can be applied to so many other things … the point being that there is a real value in not giving children everything that they want.

Leave a Reply

