Super Bowl Wednesday

BEFORE WE GET STARTED, IF ANY OF YOU HAVE BEEN FOLLOWING ME WITH EMAIL NOTIFICATIONS, I THINK SOMETHING MAY HAVE GONE AWRY WITH THAT SETTING ON MY END, SO IF YOU HAVEN’T BEEN GETTING THOSE EMAILS THE LAST FEW DAYS, PLEASE RESUBSCRIBE WITH THE “FOLLOW” BUTTON IN THE LOWER RIGHT HAND CORNER. THANKS!

Can you feel the excitement in the air? And by the way, what was with the 61 degree temperature we had yesterday? Sixty-one degrees and sunny. I took a walk outside to my patio and looked over my barren garden beds, well, except for that infernal mint that just won’t go away and I started imagining the layout for the season’s plantings.

Alright, so where was I? Excitement in the air. Can you feel the excitement of the Super Bowl? Me neither. Actually, about the only thing I know about the Super Bowl….and by the way, is it okay to say Super Bowl now without having to downplay it with the vague “Big Game” allowable substitute? I’ve been hearing Super Bowl, Super Bowl, Super Bowl all over the radio and TV. Well, I know it’s on this Sunday and I know Kelly Clarkson is singing the National Anthem, which means there’s a good chance it’ll be at least harmoniously sung and Madonna is appearing during the half-time show and if I’m not mistaken, her British accent is gone.

What I’m not sure about is who is playing. I’m not a super duper football fan but we have made the Super Bowl a yearly tradition ever since Janet Jackson’s unfortunate turn with entertaining the masses. Who is playing? Let me look it up. Talk amongst yourselves a moment.

Oh, yes, the Giants and the  Patriots. Now that leaves the question of which team I should root for. Well, I haven’t spilled any coffee grounds that miraculously spelled out a P or a G. So that’s out. I don’t own an octopus or a camel who can predict the winner, but there is Commander Alexander The Salamander’s second cousin Penelope, but she’s keeping mum, although she does spend an awful lot of time under the big rock formation in her acquarium. If you want to stretch the connection, you might say rock formation/Plymouth Rock, I would pick the Pats. Being from the NY/NJ area, it would seem fitting I would choose the Giants even though they can’t decide whether they’re from New York or New Jersey. Maybe I’ll just base my choice on the general consensus…and then do the opposite.

Let me think a minute. Talk amongst yourselves.

While I’m deliberating, here’s a Chris Christie update. He appeared on our local radio station last night and made an apology, not for calling Reed Gusciora, an openly gay man (refered to as a Democrat in the news article. as if that matters) “numbnuts”, but for possibly offending certain New Jerseyans with his comment comparing the quest for gay marriage in the state with the civil rights movement. For  Heaven’s sake, people, his own mother used that term with him so he considered it a light slap in the face, sort of fun term of endearment. So, that makes it all better.

I’m going with the New England Patriots.

Oh my, I just realized, tomorrow is Groundhog Day and looking ahead on the weather dot com website, it looks like it’ll be cloudy tomorrow morning  and quite possibly Punxsutawney Phil won’t be seeing his shadow so according to tradition we could possibly be in for an early Spring, as if the recent abnormally high temperatures aren’t an indication that a change is a-comin’.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Super Bowl Wednesday”

  1. Ariel Says:

    a-coming’. !

Leave a Reply

