Just In Time For Vacation

Yes, it’s me. Sound the trumpets!

Wow, it’s been almost a whole month since I’ve been here. How time flies! I just haven’t had anything to write about and I didn’t feel like bitching about stuff I was hearing on the news;  Okay, now we know things are off kilter here when you don’t want to bitch about something. Dharun Ravi (that farce and insult to the American public, not to mention the dead kid. I’m probably wrong, but I thought recording someone without their knowledge was a crime, not just something to get slapped on the wrist over, the whole Sandusky matter, the bus monitor lady… I’m not sure where I stand with this one, not having seen or heard the entire video. I feel bad for her, but, come on, she’s not much of a bus monitor if she can’t control the kids she was hired to control. And to take up a collection that has amassed over 600 thousand dollars so she can take a vacation..?  And where was the bus driver during all this? Couldnt’ he have stopped the bus and intervened or thrown the kids off the bus and let their parents deal with them? Oh, no, it’s all about the precious kids..and don’t inconvenience the parents. Can’t hurt or insult the kids. The wonderful kids who get away with everything because you can’t “pick” on them. People, that’s why they do this sort of thing because they have no guidance! Good Lord!  How about George Zimmerman … let’s not even get on that cluster F, and whatever the Kardashians are up to; can’t they just go away and take Justin Bieber with them?  Oh, there, I feel better now. Like I was never gone.

So, what have I been doing in the meantime? Well for one thing, I’ve been working.  I’ve learned and I think mastered a new program I installed on my PC. That makes me happy. I’ve also been raising my garden and battling whatever it is that’s getting in and eating my corn. Still! Well, it was one not so established stalk, but that’s not the point. There’s a picture below taken just yesterday that shows just how lush my garden is.

So, let’s see what else has been going on since I was last here. Well, I have my colonoscopy appointment set for next month. I’m now on Lipitor for my cholesterol. I think I’ve lost a few pounds.

I’ve been busy making plans for my summer vacation which starts as soon as I sign out of work this coming Friday. First up, tear down the fence in the back we put up a few years ago. Let’s see how close taking it down comes to killing me like it almost did putting it up. Some of you might know that story. For those that don’t, I’ll tell you real quick. We used those metal post boxes to get our uprights and because the ground is so rich with slate from when they dug the canal so all those years ago, it was difficult to get some of the boxes in. And, of course, it had recently rained and it was slick and at one point when I was trying to dig out a post box that had hit slate and turned, my foot slipped off the shovel and I fell flat back and the upturned tines of a little garden rake had just missed piercing my skull by a hair. They were about ½ inch away from my ear.

We had a second camping trip this past weekend and even though it rained on Friday, it was just little enough that it dried by the time we packed up to come home on Sunday. Thanks once again to the Rainman!

My rose bushes are blooming nicely thanks to the critter spray I’ve been using called Deer Off.

Apparently suntan lotion…sorry…sunblock is a no no in school according to the Tacoma, Washington school district. Apparently a young girl who is very sensitive to the sun got a burn in the school yard (she hadn’t lathered up in the morning because it was a cloudy day and hadn’t expected to be outside at recess). Kids are not allowed to carry it without a doctor’s note and none of the adults supervisors offered her any sunblock. One probable reason is that the adults could be accused of inappropriately touching the kids while applying sunblock on them. And we’ve already gone through one Jerry Sandusky case. Nor could the girl have worn a hat as hats are not allowed in the school. This policy is under review and should be changed by fall. Just in time for not needing it any more.

I still hate the word “amazing” though I think it fits in this case, watching seeds that for all intents and purposes all look alike and grow into individual and unique plants.

One Response to “Just In Time For Vacation”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Wow! That is a very lush garden! Good for you! Your thumb must be pretty green by now…

Leave a comment