No Apologies

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you… the end of days. Truly. Sometimes I cannot believe my ears but then when I flip through the Rolodex in my memory bank, and remember other things of this nature, I realize things like this should not surprise me. No, they just aggravate me.

Remember how it became politically incorrect to wish someone a Merry Christmas because it might offend..might offend…someone of another religion and we had to greet everyone with a blanket Happy Holidays? To digress for a split second, having to do that offends me! Don’t I count for anything? Then we have the kids who never lose in playing a game because it might damage their self esteem. I digress again…get over it. It helps you grow, to realize your shortcomings and how to overcome them, if you have it in you to do so, which you won’t if you keep on winning all the time.

Public apologies from celebrities, from actors to sports figures to politicians, for “getting caught” in voicing their opinions drives me insane. It’s my opinion that people eventually say things they’re thinking, but as long as you don’t ever speak, you’ll be fine. And guess what? I’m not apologizing for this blog.

But the latest thing that has gotten my dander up is this story I first heard on the news yesterday. It’s one of those “XYZ is banned” stories.  This one comes from Cranston, Rhode Island. On behalf of a single mother (single, in this case meaning unmarried, not a lone renegade breast-feeding-in-public rampaging woman), the American Civil Liberties Union lodged a complaint that the Rhode Island school system was in violation of the state’s gender discrimination law because the woman’s daughter was unable to attend a father-daughter dance. “This is 2012 and they [public schools] should not be in the business of fostering blatant gender stereotypes,” said Steven Brown of the RI ACLU. (This quote was taken directly from and NBC news article).

Hmm, blatant is so right. I mean look at it. You have a woman…and a man…. Sounds gender-specific to me.

(Reminds me of an old joke I know from when I was a kid –here comes my big racy moment, folks: Fred and Wilma were taking a bath and Wilma looked down and said, What is that? Fred answered, “My rocks. What is that?” he replied. “That’s my rock grinder.” So, he put his rocks in her rock grinder and made Pebbles.) And I’m still not apologizing for this blog.

School superintendent Judith Lundsten told the Providence Journal that while federal law banning gender discrimination gives an exemption for such gender-specific events, Rhode Island law does not. And in a letter she sent out, she is also quoted as saying: “I acknowledge that many of these events have long traditions and for many parents, these types of gender based events are not an issue, however, this is a public school system and under no circumstances should we be isolating any student from full participation in school activities and events based on gender.” Sounds like someone didn’t get to go to her own father-daughter dance. Just sayin’.

Janice Ruggieri, School Committee member, said the school system can begin hosting “family dances” to accommodate all kinds of parenting situations.

So, thank you very much single mother from Cranston, Rhode Island for being so self-important and for ruining yet another tradition. Oh, hey, by the way, do you have a brother who could have taken your kid to the dance? Another relative? A friend? A neighbor?  Did your kid even want to go to the dance?

Just as a note, mother-son events are also included in this ban.

Oh, I know… why not ban the traditional mother/son, father/daughter dance at weddings, too, while you’re at it.

I’m still not apologizing.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “No Apologies”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Instead of trying to “accommodate” every single individual person and situation and trying so desperately not to hurt anyone’s feelings, maybe things would be better if judges, school officials, political leaders, etc. just said “get over it.” And then we take that as an acceptable answer! Aren’t your personal struggles and let-downs and frustrations the things that build character and make you a unique individual?? Besides, just because there is no father/daughter dance doesn’t change the fact that the kid has no father! That is something they still have to live with regardless of whether “fathers” in general ever get special recognition from the school or elsewhere …

Leave a Reply

