Things Come To Those Who Wait

…and wait, and wait. But first…

Appointment with nutritionist  …touched! Now I have until January 8 to try to loose some weight before I get put on a doctor regimented diet plan, the step prior to being on some other pill for it. Fun times! And that’s one thing I don’t want to be is a walking medicine cabinet if I can help it. I did it before, lost 35 pounds and I’ll do it again. So, now you’re updated on that. God, I’m so hungry!!!!!!

Okay, so back to the blog. Things also come in the most unexpected random ways.

Years ago, I’m going to say in the neighborhood of 38, give or take, I heard this piece of “music” on the radio that was so intoxicating and entrancing that in all these years, I’ve never gotten over it. I say “music” because it takes the confusion of what it might actually have been. It kind of sounded like one might imagine a void in space to sound like, with maybe a clink and clunk of the outer shell of a space craft breaking the drear silence every now and then combined with a slight whisper of a whoosh sound peppered throughout. At some point, as I let my imagination carry me to a place I’d never been before, a bellowing voice announced the artist of the piece, Karl Shultz, and I immediately tore off to the Record Hut. In this case, immediately means the next day by bus to Menlo Park Mall when Menlo Park Mall was on one level and unpretentious and still had a Rickles and a Woolworth’s. And Arcadian Gardens was there, too, in the back of Bamberger’s. Yeah, I’m THAT old! My search went unfulfilled.

A few years ago, around the time I got my first Droid phone, I was on the Verizon website and it had a background music track that was somewhat similar and it took me back to that night in my old living room in front of the Longines turntable that came as a bonus when my parents joined the record club. I had to find a way to capture that sound, to elongate it, to play when I needed some white noise to block out the day to day. It wasn’t as “spacey”, but rather more mechanical and I was willing to acquiesce. It would suffice. But I never took care of that project and the next time I went to do it, that soundtrack no longer existed.

Now, to fill my days while I work, when there’s nothing interesting on TV, and I’m preemptively tired of the same 4 songs they’re probably playing on the radio, I listen to talk radio or podcasts. And of the dozen or so “favorites” I have preset on Stitcher, I religiously listen to 2.

Just the other day, like each day when I open Stitcher, a random podcast will start playing. The Truth, a sort of short radio play podcast opened and it was about a couple venturing into an abandoned subway. The background music had a familiarity about it, so much so, as the show played, I found the contact us link on their website and was about to send an email asking what the music was. The show ended and the announcer read off the credits, including the music by Kluas Schulze. That was it!! Not Karl, after all. At last I had found that “music” and so onto Amazon I went and now comes the task of finding that particular one. I sampled some of it and for a few moments, I was back in a time, when I had all the time in the world to be transported.

I can still hear that announcer’s bellow stirring me from the ether that night back around 1974, give or take, KLAUS SHULZE. Now if only I could hear him say the title of the piece again. I’ll have to listen very carefully.

Have a great weekend!

One Response to “Things Come To Those Who Wait”

  1. Melissa Says:

    That is awesome!!! I hope you find the song! I know you will. I love that story! I have similar things from my childhood that I might have just a very vague memory of, and I would LOVE to capture those moments again!

Leave a Reply

