No Words

I haven’t been here in a while but I had something to share and then there’s something I want to express my opinion about.

It’s been a week today that I’ve submitted my manuscript to another prospective agent. I could have a wait as long as three months to hear anything back and if it takes longer than six, then I have the go-ahead to contact them. Until then, I just have to wait and let them do their thing with my submission. So, maybe the new year will kick off with some good news.

Some other good news is, that it’s snowing on my blog. See that? I’m glad I’m able to get at least on blog in here so we can watch it snow. So cute.

I really don’t want to dwell on this, but it seems to be taking up all the air time on the news and so I figured I can weigh in once…and be done with it. Of course you know I’m talking about the school shooting in Connecticut last Friday.

I don’t profess to know anything about that family other than what I’ve been hearing on the news but one thing that sticks in my mind is that the shooter was mentally disturbed. Not even gonna make a crack.

Some people say there’s a link between his affinity to a certain extremely violent video game and there is another school of thought that says there is no connection. Everyone seems to be guessing what drove this kid to do this revolting thing so I’m putting in my two cents.

As an armchair psychoanalyst, my guess is, given the fact, as they’ve stated over and over, that he cloistered himself in his room for hours on end with this video game, is just another example of the society we live in. Forget the violent aspect for the moment, let’s consider the reclusive life some people lead, tethered to a false existence in cyberspace, whether it be on the computer, or the smartphone or with games, anything that keeps one withdrawn from actual societal interaction, learning how to face reality, how to handle certain stressful situations, actually speaking words to someone. Then factor in the aspect of the level of violence in these games, it becomes a question of nature vs. nurture, you react to your environment.  Unconsciously, this secluded lifestyle becomes a ramped up case of cabin fever until one has the need to strike out.  

The world is not an easy place to navigate; heck I’m 52 years old and I’m not quite sure I completely understand how the world is supposed to work, but I think I have a better handle on it now than when I was a kid. I hope so, anyway. Things always try to get the better of you, but with experience, you learn what’s important and what you automatically know isn’t worth sweating over.

I think it’s really time for parents to start taking an active role in the raising of their children, or least showing an interest, forcing themselves on the kids. Don’t worry that he or she “hates” you at the moment you tell him to put the cell phone down at dinner, or to go outside and make a real snowman, in the snow, in the cold…with boots on or plant a real garden and watch things grow. It’s very satisfying.

And for crying out loud, dear media, let the families and the community grieve in peace! The entire country is in mourning, we don’t need to see everyone’s tear stained faces. We get it!

But Jesus said, “Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of heaven.” Matthew 19:14

One Response to “No Words”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Wait, you’re 52?!?!?

    Anyway, very well said. Very well said.

Leave a Reply

