With This Ring

If you’re reading this, then I guess the world hasn’t ended as has been predicted, ad nauseum. Phew! I understand there’s something really cool for me under the tree this year and I want it before I go.

Look at me, three days in a row. That’s a new record of late. And speaking of record (and this is a lousy segue), you might recall I reported that I found that Klaus (not Karl) Schulze music from way back when. Well, I downloaded a few albums because that’s the only way I could get them and I’m still listening through them to find the right one. So far, I haven’t found “the” one and I may have to resort to another round of downloading. So be it.

I’ve been meaning to catch you up on our latest, hmm, folly doesn’t exactly fit…more like project. We decided to try our hand at making chainmail. At first, it seemed like an impossible task, assembling it. Oh, the winding the wire and cutting the rings was a snap but linking them beyond the basic four on one was getting the best of me/us. But one night it just clicked and I was off and running. Ariel, still hasn’t quite mastered it, so we split up the duties; he makes the four in ones and I link them together.

Then a friend of ours directed us to a better metal to work with, especially if anything we make will be worn and since we decided to heed his advice, we also thought maybe we ought to find a better way to make a cleaner cut without burrs so the rings would close tighter and have a cleaner look.

We’re in the process of perfecting that step and hopefully this coming weekend we’ll get it going good. In the meantime, this sheet is what we made from that other metal we were first using. Some of you might have seen it already on Facebook. And so that it doesn’t go to waste, I think I’ll turn it into a little bag perhaps. It will just need a handle. I fixed the thumbnail feature..Wordpress has deemed it necessary to move things, functions,  all around–all in the name of progress and alleged ease of use. And don’t even get me started on iTunes. The latest version is completely for the birds. Note to iTunes… I still hate you.  Anyway, you can now click on the picture below to see it in greater detail.

chainmaile

Here’s another Christmas favorite. Click on Santa and when the page opens, just type a command and see what Santa does. Just for kicks, I had him moon me once and once, because I asked, he kicked Rudolph’s ass. Have fun!

And in case I don’t get back before next Tuesday, have a very merry Christmas!

Santa (2)

Leave a Reply

