Welcome Back (Part 1)

Look! I’m here! Let’s see for how long.

Well, happy new year, y’all’somes. Let’s see, what’s been happening since my words last danced passed your eyes? Hmm, there’s a joke using the catch phrase “passed your eyes”. I’ll clean it up and tell you later.

Well, Christmas came and went and the New Year arrived without much incident. We spent it in Philadelphia, Mummers and all. It was great time.

I think I’ll make this an entertainment report. Let’s start with the most recent. Did anybody see Kelly Clarkson sing “My Country ‘Tis of Thee” during the inauguration yesterday? What was with her pronunciation of liberty as liberdy… sweet land of liberdy… Kelly, please! And is it just me, or did President Obama sound like he was trying out this Bill Clinton impersonation?

Now to recap…on Christmas we went to see Les Miserables. While it was okay, I don’t get the hype. I hate it when movies have so much hype. After Ann Hathaway’s character died, I felt kind of bored. And then I was choking on popcorn, which might have been fine during Gangster Squad, when it was all loud with gunfire, but during Les Mis, when it’s so somber and quiet, I was “that” guy making noise. Gangster Squad, with Sean Penn turned out to be a bit of a dud for me as well..for as long as I waited for it to finally open. Not enough Sean Penn, the main reason we went to see it. Last weekend we saw Django Unchained and again, while for me (Goodness knows I march to a different drummer) it had potential of being a really good movie, I counted several reasons it fell into an abyss and garnered only a 4 rating from me. First of all, in a story set pre-Civil War, I don’t think Jim Croce’s “I Got A Name” was a proper song choice for the period, nor was the rap music during a massacre. There was the comedy relief involving the KKK and the ‘bags” they wore over their heads. It was just a pointless relentless ongoing gag about how difficult it was to see through the eye holes that got old very quickly.  And while they were bounty hunting someone, Django was reading a wanted poster the German had in his pocket. Django was able to read the name “Bacall” but could not sound out the word “gang”. Ariel argued that perhaps he had heard the name and by association knew what the letters spelled. I’m not so generous.  There were other incidents that didn’t feel right to me, but again, that’s just me.

The last time I was here, I mentioned that One Life To Live is coming back as an online project. The last I read was that deals were made with the necessary unions and guilds and Erika Slezak, (Viki), Robin Strasser (Dorian), Robert S Woods (Bo) and Jerry VerDorn (Clint) have signed on. Oh happy day!

Oh, this blog was going to drag on so I’m splitting it in half. The rest will be tomorrow.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

